Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Gavit Rajendra Dhedya has won the bypoll in Palghar Lok Sabha constituency while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has emerged victorious in Bhandara-Gondia seat in Maharashtra. In Uttar Pradesh, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader Tabassum Hasan defeated Mriganka Singh of the BJP in Kairana. BJP’s ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) is leading against Naga People’s Front (NPF) in Nagaland Lok Sabha bypoll.


Reacting to the results in Palghar, the Shiv Sena hit out at the BJP, challenging it to contest elections through ballot papers and not Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).The counting of votes for by-polls of four high-stake LOk Sabha seats-Kairana, Bhandara-Gondia and Palghar and Nagaland parliamentary constituency – began at 8 am on Thursday. The results of these Lok Sabha constituencies are being seen as a precursor to the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019.


Nitish Blames it on petrol rates and others say it is Modis anti-peoples policies. They talk about demonetisation, communal politics, GST, Price rise so on and so forth. Overall the mood is against the BJP and it is clearly evident. TMC also has done well in West Bengal and Mamatha is here to stay. The workers say ab chalo Delhi.